sweating to the oldies…


All my life I’ve been pretty athletic, but never really skinny (except ages birth-8 years).  I have some genetics working against me, which doesn’t always seem fair.  However, knowing what other family members have gone through with these genes gives me a better understanding about what I need to be doing now.  Diabetes is a big one that I’m trying to avoid.  I’ve been hypoglycemic for the last 10 years and have kept my blood sugar levels in the safe zone.  I’ve learned how to manage it and what foods I can alter to still be able to enjoy a little of everything.

When I met my husband, he was about 80 pounds heavier.  Yes, that is an 8 & 0.  It always seems not cool how fast guys can loose weight.  I mean seriously, we can do the exact same things – same workout, same food, etc.  – he can loose twice as much as me.  Somehow over the last 6 years, the tables have turned.  He lost 80.  I gained….  well, a lot.  Probably about 50.  No matter what I do and how hard I try, I keep gaining.  After an unfortunate accident last year and knee surgery, it made it even more difficult to exercise.

30 is coming around the corner and I don’t want to keep gaining because as I get closer to that new coming of age, it’s harder to get the weight off.  It’s so uncomfortable and so irritating trying to find clothes.  For the past two weeks I’ve been working extra hard and lost 5 pounds and 1/2 inch off my waist.  Lots of walking, Wii fit, and other exercises that I can do at home.  I feel that I need another boost, so Craig and I talked it over and we joined Weight Watchers.

So here’s to the new journey!  I’m really excited about it!  So many changes have happened in my life since April and I’m working on re-inventing myself and becoming better than ever.  ¡Salude!

Charli Rae

0 Responses to “sweating to the oldies…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

about charli rae
my etsy store
email me
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


