PMS…


Unless you are a super nerdy designer, these initials probably mean something a little different to you…. In the world of graphic design, these initials stand for Pantone Matching System.  Pantone allows designers to color match specific hues.  Every year, Pantone announces their color of the year.  It’s really cool to see how the trend goes from advertising to fashion and other applications.  I was really excited to read on Sew4Home‘s blog this morning that the 2011 color of the year is honeysuckle!  They had a great collage of the different fabrics in this color.  SO fun!

A few weeks ago I ran across this amazingness on the Somance Design. It’s intended for color matching, but I think it would be amazing in a quilt!

Until then, I’ll just play with my swatches from Voler that I use for bike jerseys.

I’ll say this much, one thing I love almost as much as typography and texture is Pantone color swatches….  even on fabric!  Here’s to the year of the honeysuckle!

0 Responses to “PMS…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

about charli rae
my etsy store
email me
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


